Cherry Limeade

21 Aug

As a refreshing summer treat, I surprised my hubby with a homemade version of a favorite beverage – the classic cherry limeade! We’re suckers for Sonic’s specialty drinks (especially during the daily happy hour when they’re 1/2 off!) and while my go-to Sonic drink is Ocean Water, he loves their Cherry Limeade. After seeing that a fellow food blogger posted her love for their drinks and shared their “secret recipe”, (thanks Jessica!) I knew I had to try it myself!

This is such a simple beverage to concoct; you can use regular Sprite or save calories with Sprite Zero or something similar. The only ingredient that might be hard to find is the cherry syrup. I found it at World Market – they have a fantastic selection of flavored syrups! I was slightly bummed that I didn’t have awesome ice like Sonic does – my big cubes just weren’t the same as their small “cubelet ice” as it’s known. Just a minor detail, I know, but regardless, this drink really hit the spot on a hot summer day in Texas!

Cherry Limeade

Ingredients:
Juice of 1 small lime
1/4 cup cherry syrup
1 can Sprite, 12 oz
Maraschino cherry and lime for garnish (optional)
Ice

Directions:
Put several ice cubes in a large glass. Add the cherry syrup, lime juice, and Sprite to the glass. Stir to combine. Add a maraschino cherry and slice of lime for garnish, if desired. Easy as that!

Source: Adapted fromĀ The Novice Chef Blog

4 Responses to “Cherry Limeade”

  1. Stacey Too August 21, 2011 at 1:24 pm #

    You can always buy sonic ice especially for these drinks. :-)

    • Becky August 21, 2011 at 10:32 pm #

      Haha, yes I could! If I really wanted it to be authentic – very true! : )

  2. Hailey Gaida August 21, 2011 at 6:29 pm #

    At Walmart, on the Coffee aisle as well as at Sam’s, they sell the Torani flavored syrups. I’m not sure if they have the cherry there, however. I like the Braum’s version of limeades and cherry limeades. The Sprite just doesn’t do it for me.

    Club Soda, Fresh Squeezed Lime, Simple Syrup, and Cherry Syrup. Delicious. Another quick fix is to use the juice from the maraschino cherries if you don’t have the syrup!

    • Becky August 21, 2011 at 10:34 pm #

      Awesome pointer – thanks Hai! I hardly ever shop at Walmart & didn’t even think to check there! Don’t think I’ve ever tried Braum’s but will have to next time : )

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 126 other followers

