Veggie Tales: Beets

31 Oct

The “second veggies” for this month are beets! I’d never tried a beet before, and honestly, they make me giggle because I always think of Dwight from The Office. Anyone else? :)

Anyways, when looking for beet recipes, I hoped to find something simple and unique. And I found just that – baked beet chips! These were super easy to make, especially with the Kichenaid slicer/shredder attachment that came with my mixer over a year ago which I just now finally used. These are a fantastic healthy snack and so rich in color!

The taste wasn’t what I was expecting. I’ve always heard beets get a bad rep, claiming that they taste like dirt. While they do have that mild earthy taste, they were also slightly sweet in my opinion. All in all, I’m a big fan! Here’s what my hubby thought:

“These are light, crisp, and just a hint of beet. These looked like rose petals meet wood chips with the circular lines seen on the chips. But you really can’t taste the beet and with just a hint of salt, these are a great alternative for a snack instead of potato chips.”

Baked Beet Chips

Ingredients:
3 medium beets
Salt

Directions:
Preheat oven to 300 degrees F. Chop off the top of the beet to remove from stems. Peel the beets. Slice the beets very thinly with a mandolin, Kitchenaid slicer, sharp knife, or whatever you have! Line a baking sheet with parchment paper and arrange the slices. Lightly sprinkle salt on the beets and bake for 15 minutes. Remove from oven, flip slices over, and bake for another 15 minutes, or until crisp. Remove from oven and place chips on a cooling rack. Store in an airtight container and enjoy!

Source: In Sock Monkey Slippers

One Response to “Veggie Tales: Beets”

  1. Stacey Too October 31, 2011 at 11:01 pm #

    So does this mean you are going to bring some for us to try at work? I dont like beets at all because they were just gross when I was growing up & had to eat them but would try the chip version. Very interesting.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 126 other followers

