Balsamic Persimmon Salad

27 Dec

IMG_2432

I’ve been really curious about persimmons this season. They’ve caught my eye in the store a few times, so I finally picked up a few and decided to give them a try.

This salad recipe I saw on Shutterbean came to mind and seemed like the perfect healthy vehicle for this cute little fruit. I tweaked it a little, based on the ingredients I had on hand, and loved the end result! I had some Boston lettuce, but you could easily use butter lettuce, spinach, or whatever you’d like.

IMG_2434

I toasted up some walnuts and used my old hand-me-down pans for the last time…because I got this lovely new set for Christmas! *swoon*

IMG_2441

Foodies are so easy to shop for, am I right? I got things like a donut pan, cake decorating tools, cookbooks, (plus something else I’ll mention soon) and was so stoked! Did any of you get cool kitchen presents this year? Regardless, I hope yall had a very Merry Christmas!

Balsamic Persimmon Salad

Ingredients:
6 Tbsp extra virgin olive oil
2 Tbsp balsamic vinegar
1 tsp honey
Kosher salt & freshly ground pepper
1 head Boston lettuce, torn (or whatever kind of lettuce you have!)
2 Fuyu persimmons, peeled & thinly sliced
1/3 cup toasted walnuts, chopped

Yield: 2-4 servings

Directions:
In a small jar, mix oil with balsamic vinegar and honey. Season with salt & pepper to taste. Put lid on the jar and shake dressing to combine.

In a large bowl, place the lettuce, persimmons, and walnuts. Drizzle most of the dressing over the salad and toss to combine. Top with any other things you want, like some crumbled cheese. Enjoy!

Source: Adapted from Shutterbean

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 132 other followers

