When Life Gives You Peaches…

15 Jul

When life gives you peaches…make yummy things with them! : )

A nice person brought some home grown peaches into my husband’s office the other day and when he asked if I wanted some, I said “YES!” So lucky for me, I got a nice bag of fresh peaches to use however I wanted. Life is good.

After getting some yummy suggestions, I decided to make a cobbler. (which was the overwhelming request from my southern cobbler-loving friends) But, I didn’t want to make just any cobbler, so I found an incredibly delicious recipe to try. And oh boy, it didn’t disappoint!

Introducing…the peach-almond cobbler! One main reason I wanted to try this one is because it includes a bit of amaretto to give it the almond flavor. I’ve never baked with it and was very excited to go purchase it and show my new Texas drivers license.

Look at this beautiful bottle! I want to keep it forever and refill it with yummy things. Like maybe some homemade limoncello I have a recipe for…?

When “love” is in the name, how can you dislike it?

Even the cap is cute! (can you tell I’m excited?)

My peachy keen cobbler before baking…

…and after.

Yeah, I definitely attacked it with a fork. Don’t judge. I’d just ran 3 miles and it was calling my name.

Here’s the recipe for all of you. I highly suggest you make it yourself. And then attack it with a fork. Enjoy!

Peach-Almond Cobbler

Crust:
1 cup (2 sticks) cold unsalted butter
¾ cup rolled oats
1 ¾ cup all-purpose flour
1 tablespoon sugar
1 teaspoon salt
½ cup cold buttermilk

Filling:
5 cups peeled & sliced peaches** (about 7 large peaches)
1 tablespoon lemon juice
1 cup sugar
2 tablespoons amaretto
2 tablespoons corn starch
½ teaspoon cinnamon

To make the crust:
In a food processor, grind up the rolled oats until they are the consistency of flour. In a large bowl, sift together the oat flour, all purpose flour, sugar and salt. Cut the butter into cubes and blend into the flours using the food processor (you can also work the butter in with your fingers.) Once the flour-butter mixture begins to resemble coarse crumbs, place it back in the bowl and make a well in the center of the mixture. Add in the cold buttermilk and mix together with your hands. (yes, this will be sticky)

Roll the dough onto a floured surface and form into a rough disc. Wrap in plastic wrap and place in the fridge for at least an hour. It will last in the refrigerator for 3 days if you decide to make it ahead of time.

To make the cobbler:
**If you aren’t sure how to properly peel & slice peaches, here’s the trick – blanch them first, by placing the peaches in boiling water for 30 seconds and then moving them directly to ice water. The peels should now come right off, and they’ll slice more easily.

In a large bowl, mix together all of the filling ingredients. Place in your baking dish. Roll out the dough until it is roughly ¼ of an inch thick, and then place it over top of the baking dish. Trim away the edges, and then flute the crust along the top with your fingers. Be sure that the crust hangs a little over the edge and that you press it firmly to the baking dish, otherwise the filling may bubble over and drip into your oven.

Bake at 375 degrees F for 40 minutes, or until the crust is golden brown.

Source: A Cozy Kitchen

PS: I had some extra pie crust from another recipe, so I just used that. But the recipe above is super easy too!

One Response to “When Life Gives You Peaches…”

  1. cheatroulette July 19, 2010 at 3:02 am #

    Damn, that sound’s so easy if you think about it.

Leave a Reply

