Hawaiian Pulled Pork Sandwiches

17 Jul

Happy Saturday everyone, I hope yall are having a great weekend! I’ve been holding onto this recipe for a few months now and finally made it. It was worth the wait, but I wish I’d tried it sooner because it was delicious! A few months ago, when we were still living in Virginia, my husband saw this recipe on the Food Network and DVR’d it for me to check out. Needless to say my mouth was watering and I bookmarked it right away.

You can just prep this in the morning and let it sit in the slow cooker all day, then dish it up and enjoy a yummy dinner! I’ll also include some notes regarding little changes I made or issues I faced when prepping for this meal.

Hawaiian Pulled Pork Sandwiches

Ingredients:
1 packet dry marinade rub*
1 teaspoon ground pepper
1 tablespoon paprika
2 1/2 pounds pork shoulder**
1/2 cup chicken broth
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/4 cup soy sauce
1 cup chili sauce***
3/4 cup pineapple juice
Handful of chopped carrots or baby carrots****
Hamburger buns

Hawaiian Sauce:
2 tablespoons canola oil
2 teaspoons garlic, minced
1 tablespoon ginger, minced

Directions:
In small bowl, combine dry rub mix, paprika and pepper.

Coat the pork the with rub mixture, patting until all rub is used. Set aside.
In a bowl, whisk together the chicken broth, brown sugar, soy sauce, chili sauce and pineapple juice. Set aside.
Put the carrots in the bottom of the slow cooker. Place the pork on top of the carrots and pour half of the sauce juice mixture over pork. Reserve remainder for Hawaiian sauce. Cover and cook on low for 7 to 8 hours. The meat should fall apart easily. Remove the roast from the slow cooker to a cutting board. Using 2 forks carefully pull the meat into shreds. Serve the pork on rolls drizzled with the Hawaiian sauce or on the side for dipping.

Hawaiian Sauce:
In a medium pot, heat garlic over medium heat about 2 minutes. Add the remaining sauce mixture, bring to a boil, then reduce heat and simmer for 10 minutes. Remove from heat and set aside.

Source: Adapted from FoodNetwork.com

Notes:
*For the dry rub, I used McCormick Grill Mates Hawaiian Luau. I found it at Kroger. I couldn’t find the Teriyaki rub the original recipe suggested but any similar flavor would be good.
** The original said to use 3 1/2 pounds, but for two people, 2 1/2 was plenty! The original also needed leftover pork for other recipes.
***Just FYI, chili sauce can be found right by the ketchup at the grocery store. It took me forever to find!
****The original said to use chopped onions and carrots, but I only had baby carrots. They worked great!

Enjoy!

One Response to “Hawaiian Pulled Pork Sandwiches”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Shiner Bock Hamburger Buns « Beckster's Laboratory - October 26, 2011

    […] paired them with my favorite pulled pork recipe (my how my photography has improved since then!) and it was a big hit. This recipe makes lots of […]

Leave a Reply

