A Tale of Two Breads

27 Jul

One day, I decided to try my luck at making homemade bread. I’d seen my aunt do it before and have used yeast countless times to make pizza dough…so it couldn’t be TOO hard, right? Ha. Haha. Hahaha.

My first attempt was ok, but rather disappointing. It didn’t rise as tall as I wanted and was rather dense. It was edible and perfect to use up on things like French Toast, but definitely not sandwich quality. I’ve gotten some pointers from my talented bread making aunt, so hopefully next time will be better. I plan to try it again very soon and will share the recipe then. And hopefully some photos of the perfect bread!

I also learned (the hard way) that my thermometer is NOT oven proof. Oops : )

After feeling a little bummed about the failed bread, I decided to make some easy pumpkin bread to make me happier! Any yeast-less bread is obviously much easier to make, so I was a feeling better afterwards. Here’s my favorite pumpkin bread recipe, that I got from my mom:

Pumpkin Bread

Ingredients:
3 1/2 cups flour
2 teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1 teaspoon nutmeg
1 1/2 teaspoons salt
3 cups sugar
1 cup oil
4 eggs
2/3 cup water
2 cups canned pumpkin

Directions:
Combine sugar, oil, and eggs in bowl and mix together. Add other ingredients and mix only until dry particles are moist. Pour into two 9x5x3 loaf pans. Bake at 350 F for 60-70 minutes. (or until toothpick comes out clean) Cool on wire racks.

*Note, this recipe makes TWO loafs. I halved the recipe and just made one. Enjoy!

4 Responses to “A Tale of Two Breads”

  1. Shauna from Piece of Cake July 29, 2010 at 11:52 pm #

    Oh, I know what you mean, about the yeast breads. Scary stuff! I love the No-Knead Bread recipes and Nick Malgieri has an “Instant Sandwich Bread” that’s pretty foolproof too, even for me!

    Your pumpkin bread, however, looks terrific!

  2. Becky August 10, 2010 at 9:13 am #

    Your pumpkin bread looks yummy too! Isn’t it great to have recipe’s from our moms. They never let you down!

  3. Elle August 15, 2011 at 1:33 pm #

    Do you think that I could make this without the pumpkin and it would turn out alright?

    • Becky August 15, 2011 at 8:20 pm #

      Hmm, I wouldn’t personally try it…it’s a vital ingredient in the recipe. But if you go for it, let me know how it turns out!

Leave a Reply

