Neiman Marcus Cookies

28 Oct

I had a hankering for these cookies recently. I bought the book “500 Cookies” when I was living in Virginia and this was the first recipe I tried from it. I haven’t made these cookies in a while, and they were even better than I remembered. I love their name, first of all. Very catchy. According to the book, a customer paid $250 for this recipe, thinking they were being charged $2.50. Hence the “overpriced” name. Love it.

When I made the dough, I realized that it smells like tiramisu. (my favorite dessert of all time) I actually baked a few of the cookies without chocolate chips, and they did taste quite like tiramisu in cookie form.

Coffee + Chocolate + Cookies = Delicious!

Neiman Marcus Cookies

Ingredients:
1/2 cup butter, softened (1 stick)
1 cup light brown sugar
1 egg
2 tsp vanilla extract
1 and 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1 and 1/2 tsp instant coffee powder
1 and 1/2 cups semisweet chocolate chips

Directions:
Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Beat the butter and sugar together, then add egg and vanilla.

Sift together the remaining dry ingredients, including the coffee powder. Stir the dry ingredients into the butter mixture and mix in the chocolate chips.

Roll dough into balls. (I let it chill in the fridge for a few minutes first) Put dough balls onto a non-stick baking sheet and use your hand to flatten the dough ball slightly. Bake for 8 to 10 minutes. Cool for 5 minutes.

Store in an airtight container for 4 to 5 days. They shouldn’t last that long ; )

Source: 500 Cookies

Leave a Reply

