Almond Joy Scones

5 Feb

Almond Joys have one of my favorite flavor profiles: chocolate, coconut, and almond. So when I was recently pondering what flavor of scones to make, I knew this combo would be a keeper. I debated putting pieces of almond inside the scone, but decided to make a yummy almond glaze instead. I left some without any glaze (for the hubby), some with a white glaze, and then to be true to my beloved Almond Joy, some with a blue almond glaze.

Also, I was stoked to use the new amazing scone pan my hubby gave me for Christmas. It worked like a dream : )

Almond Joy Scones

Ingredients:
3 and 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1 Tbsp plus 1 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1 cup chocolate chips
1 cup shredded coconut
2 cups cold whipping cream

Almond Glaze:
1 tsp almond extract
2 Tbsp milk
1 cup powdered sugar

Directions:
Heat the oven to 375 degrees. Mix together the first six ingredients. Pour in the cream and mix until the flour mixture is moistened. Put the mixture onto a floured surface (dough will be sticky!) and knead gently until a soft dough forms, about 2 minutes.

Divide the dough in half. Flatten the dough into a circle and cut each dough circle into eight triangles with a knife or pizza cutter. Place slices into a scone pan or on a cookie sheet about two inches apart. Bake for 15-20 minutes or until lightly browned.

Serve warm, if you don’t want to use a glaze. Let them cool completely if you want to glaze them. To make the glaze, whisk the three ingredients together. Add more milk if you want it thinner or more powdered sugar if you want it thicker. Add a few drops of blue food coloring if you want the blue glaze. Once scones are cooled, drizzle the tops with the almond glaze. Enjoy!

Source: Beckster original, adapted from Buns In My Oven

3 Responses to “Almond Joy Scones”

  1. Babygirl February 5, 2011 at 10:32 am #

    These almond joy scones look amazing and delicious. I definitely have to give these a try. Wonderful recipe.

  2. giseleferg December 8, 2013 at 9:22 pm #

    This is on my “Christmas to do list for sure!” I’ll let you know how it goes 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Coconut Chocolate Chip Scones | Beckster's Laboratory - December 9, 2013

    […] scones that are made with coconut milk instead of heavy cream or regular milk. I’d made some similar scones before, but I really like this recipe more. The coconut milk adds some extra flavor and the […]

Leave a Reply

