Cream of Mushroom Soup

18 Feb

Mushrooms are another food that I never gave a chance until recently. VERY recently…as in a month ago. Now, my mom absolutely loves mushrooms, and growing up, I always gave her grief when she’d eat them. I couldn’t believe she enjoyed fungus so much! But, when I had an abundance of mushrooms in front of me, I decided to put them to good use, and made this cream of mushroom soup for my coworkers. I figured I’d try a spoonful, because it’s only right to sample the fruit of your labor. Another BOOM moment – I ate some mushroom and didn’t die! In fact, I actually liked it!

My path to mushroom eating has been taking baby steps. Slowly but surely my friends…before you know it, I might be biting into a huge portabella. Just maybe 🙂

Cream of Mushroom Soup

Ingredients:
4 Tbsp Butter
1 whole Onion, Minced
2 whole Dried Bay Leaf
20 ounces, weight Fresh Mushrooms, Chopped (I used Button mushrooms but any kind will do)
1/4 tsp Ground Nutmeg
2 tsp Salt
1 tsp Black Pepper
2 quarts Chicken Stock
3 cups Heavy Cream

Directions:
Heat a pot with butter over medium high heat. When the butter starts to bubble, add onions and bay leaf. Saute for about 3 minutes or until onions are translucent.

Turn the heat to high and add chopped mushrooms. Saute for 5 minutes until mushrooms are cooked and soft. If chunkier soup is desired, continue with directions below. If smooth soup is desired, remove the bay leaves and puree the prior ingredients in a food processor or blender. (or use an immersion blender) Return the pureed ingredients to the pot.

Season with the nutmeg, salt and pepper. Add the broth and cream. Bring to a boil and immediately turn heat to low. Simmer for 10 minutes. Taste and add more salt if needed.

Source: Slightly adapted from 4 Little Fergusons via Tasty Kitchen

Leave a Reply

