Salsa

5 Apr

This salsa is so simple to make and tastes phenomenal! My mom passed this recipe on to me – I remember that once I took a batch of this salsa to a get-together in high school and my friends got hooked on it. They’d always request more and my mother would kindly oblige. 🙂

Now that I’ve started making it myself, I can’t get enough. Spoon a little on an omelette, eat some as a quick snack, or, make a meal out of it! (please tell me that other people eat chips and salsa as a meal?)

This is a perfect item to bring as an appetizer for a party – it’s easy and delicious and everyone will be impressed that you made it yourself! Enjoy!

Salsa

Ingredients:
4 fresh jalapeños
2 cloves of garlic
2 cans of whole tomatoes (28 oz each)
1 bunch of cilantro
1 tsp salt

Directions:
Remove stems and seeds from peppers. Put in sauce pan of boiling water and cook covered for 10-15 minutes. Remove and set aside. Wash cilantro and cut off stems. Chop cilantro leaves. Peel garlic and put it into blender with about 2 inches of water. Puree garlic and add all ingredients a little at a time and chop together on low speed or chop cycle. (add more tomatoes if it’s too hot)

Source: My mom 🙂

2 Responses to “Salsa”

  1. Hailey April 9, 2011 at 8:25 am #

    I remember everyone going nuts over your Mom’s salsa! I’ve never been a big salsa eater, but I may have to make this for Jody. He loves the stuff.

    • Becky April 11, 2011 at 8:29 pm #

      Yes! I can’t eat it without thinking of those good old days : )

Leave a Reply

