Veggie Tales: Cauliflower

30 Apr

I’ve always been lukewarm about cauliflower. It’s never my first choice on veggie platters and I’d definitely pick it’s brother broccoli first. (Now I’m sadly imagining broccoli and cauliflower, the two competitive veggie brothers, and cauliflower always gets picked last in gym class. Oh dear.)

I’m quite a fan of this recipe though – the lemon and parmesan add a nice flavorful kick to the sometimes bland taste of cauliflower. Plus the pan frying action, while cooking it and making it soft, adds a nice crispy dimension with the browned parts of the veggie. Overall, I rather enjoyed this side dish and would definitely eat it again. However, here’s my other half’s take:

“This is going to be “point/counter point” time: One word…blayucasdofinadsfo! Okay, maybe that’s not a word, but to be P.C. I did not like cauliflower. Lemon and cheese only helped mask the strong taste of cauliflower that I didn’t like. Now before people jump me and say how dare I chastise this veggie, I’m sure there is at least ONE thing out there people do not like to eat. For me it’s A LOT of things, but my perceptions are changing on some (but not all). Also, this in no way detracts from my wife’s amazing cooking! I can safely say I will not purposely try cauliflower anytime soon again.”

Well there you have it folks! Try it yourself and see where you stand 🙂

Lemon Parmesan Pan Roasted Cauliflower

Ingredients:
2 Tbsp Olive Oil
1 whole Cauliflower Head, Cut Into Florets
1 Tbsp Freshly Squeezed Lemon Juice
1/4 cups Grated Parmesan
1 tsp Parsley Flakes (or a handful of minced fresh parsley – whatever you have!)
Salt And Pepper, to taste

Directions:
Coat the bottom of a large skillet with olive oil and arrange the cauliflower florets on top. Sprinkle in about 1 Tablespoon of water, then cover with a tightly-fitting lid. Heat skillet on medium-high heat and sear the florets, checking color occasionally and shaking the pan when bottoms become golden brown.

Once cauliflower has roasted and become fork-tender, transfer to a serving bowl, sprinkling with lemon juice, Parmesan cheese, parsley, salt, and pepper to taste. Toss gently to coat and serve.

Source: Apricosa on Tasty Kitchen

Leave a Reply

