Veggie Tales: Zucchini

31 May

This month’s veggie pick is zucchini – a recent favorite of mine. I remember the first time I tried it: I was in college and my parents gave me a rediculously huge zucchini. I didn’t know how to cook with it yet, so I made zucchini chocolate chip cookies. They were so moist and delicious – I’ll have to make them again and share the recipe with all of you. So yes, my first taste of zucchini was mixed with butter and chocolate, but that’s just the way I ease into some things! 🙂

Anyways, I haven’t revisited this tasty veggie too often, but have now rekindled my love for it. What a perfect time of year to do so, eh? It’s on sale practically every week so I’m a happy camper.

For this recipe, I wanted to keep it simple and flavorful, so a quick sautee with olive oil, garlic, and thyme did the trick. Sadly, I let it cook a little too long, so the inside was a little softer than desired, but it still tasted great! Here’s my hubby’s take:

“It wasn’t half bad. I would always see my mom cook with it and put in some of her meals, but was always scared of it. While the zucchini was cooked a little too much, which made it more mushy, it was still tasty. I know next time it will be a little crispier and I think that will improve it all the more! If I had to give a grade I would give it a solid B.”

Simple Zucchini Saute

Ingredients:
1 medium zucchini, sliced
1 Tbsp olive oil
1 clove garlic, minced
1/4 tsp dried thyme
Dash of salt and pepper

Directions:
Saute the sliced zucchini with olive oil in a medium pan on medium heat for 3-4 minutes. Add the garlic, thyme, salt, and pepper, and saute for another 3-4 minutes, or until it’s soft but not mushy. (very technical terms, I know) Serve warm and enjoy!

Source: A Beckster Original

2 Responses to “Veggie Tales: Zucchini”

  1. Hailey May 31, 2011 at 7:49 pm #

    It’s great to add to pasta for a bit of an added veggie boost.

  2. Anna June 1, 2011 at 12:48 pm #

    I’m glad that you did zucchini! I love it, personally, it’s great to grill in a foil pan along with yellow squash and onions.
    And I like it mushy. 🙂 I’m one of “those” people.

Leave a Reply

