Veggie Tales: Brussels Sprouts

30 Jun

Poor brussels sprouts never get any love. They’re definitely one of those veggies that people either really love or hate. Most seem to dislike this cute little cruciferous, no matter how they’re cooked or seasoned. I’ve actually only eaten brussels sprouts 2 or 3 times in my life, but have liked them each time because they were prepared wonderfully. I found a simple recipe that included ingredients I already had on hand. I really liked them – the balsamic flavor wasn’t too overpowering and the texture was perfect – crisp but not too chewy. My hubby very kindly ate a “no thank you” portion. Here’s his take and a personal brussels sprout story:

“Ah, the dreaded brussels sprouts. I fall in the “hate” category. To be fair though, I truly don’t hate them. (mushrooms fall into that category) I found out I was eating this veggie this month and a few of my friends told me if I liked cabbage then I might like brussels sprouts, but sadly I do not. The taste is just too strong for me to enjoy and I really forced myself to eat a half dozen.

Quick side story: My dad’s parents forced their children to eat brussels sprouts. If they didn’t eat them at dinner, they would be waiting for them for breakfast to finish. GROSS! The real kicker is my grandparents hated them and never even ate them. When my dad, aunt, and uncle grew up, they asked why they were forced to eat them. My grandparents said they just read it somewhere and that was that. Thankfully, my father didn’t pass it down to our family. 🙂 I’d love to know if there are any readers out there that were forced to eat a veggie or food that you hated!”

I’m curious too – do any of you have a bad childhood food memory?

Roasted Balsamic Brussels Sprouts

Ingredients:
1 package/bunch Brussels Sprouts
2 Tbsp Olive Oil
2 Tbsp Balsamic Vinegar
Dash of Salt and Pepper

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F. Peel off the outer beat-up layer of the brussels sprouts and discard. Trim off the end of each sprout and cut the sprout in half. Toss the brussels sprouts in a large bowl with olive oil, balsamic vinegar, salt, and pepper. (just enough to coat, add more if needed) Oil a sheet pan as needed and spread out the sprouts, cut side down. Roast them for about 15 minutes. Turn them over to cut side up and roast for another 10 minutes, or until browned. Serve warm.

Source: Slightly adapted from White on Rice Couple

2 Responses to “Veggie Tales: Brussels Sprouts”

  1. Hailey Gaida June 30, 2011 at 7:07 pm #

    I typically boil mine until slightly tender and then sautee in butter, garlic, balsamic, salt and pepper. So delicious!

    • Becky July 1, 2011 at 11:17 am #

      Yum! I’ve only ever oven roasted them – I’ll have to try that method next time!

Leave a Reply

