Veggie Tales: Spinach

26 Jul

My love of spinach began in high school – I actually never touched the stuff till I worked at Cici’s Pizza and decided to be brave and try a bite of the spinach alfredo pizza. Granted, anything mixed with creamy alfredo sauce is delicious, but it was love at first bite. Yet another awesome food that I’d missed out on for so long! Since then, I’ll take spinach any way I can get it – on pizza of course, mixed with pasta, in a quiche, as a fresh salad, or even a big bowl of it simply sauteed. Delish. My hubby on the other hand…not a huge spinach fan. He’s grown to like it fresh in salad form, but cooked spinach gives him the creeps. On a whim, I decided to see if having his wife cook it would make any difference. Let’s see how that panned out:

“My memories of spinach were two: Popeye and the cafeteria. Both did not make the vegetable look appetizing to me. Becky talking about spinach on pizza at CiCi’s reminded me that when I used to go, I’d think, “Who in their right mind would even eat that?!?!?”. As I have begun to try new things, I wanted to try spinach. My wife started me off easy with just a fresh salad, and it was freaking FANTASTIC (especially with the strawberry dressing she made). I took baby steps to finally eat it at its most healthy state which is cooked. I tried various small bites and while the taste was not bad at all, it was the texture I couldn’t get past. The slimy, sticking in my mouth sensation did not do it for me. The nice thing is spinach can be masked in a bunch of foods and I think I’ll be more willing to try it in different things now, but on it’s own as a side dish I’m afraid I’ll have to pass.”

Simple Sauteed Spinach

Ingredients:
1 Tbsp butter
1 Tbsp olive oil
1 clove garlic, minced
Package of fresh baby spinach (10 oz)
Dash of salt and pepper

Directions:
Melt butter in a large skillet. Add the olive oil and garlic and cook for 1 minute. Add the spinach and cook until wilted, stirring often. Season with salt and pepper and stir to combine. Serve warm and enjoy!

Source: A Beckster original

Leave a Reply

