Veggie Tales: Bok Choy

31 Aug

Bok Choy is one of those mysterious and underrated vegetables that most people randomly see in the produce section while on their way to the carrots. This Chinese vegetable is in the cabbage family and looks like a combination of celery and romaine lettuce. Warning: I’m currently obsessed with Instagram, so check out my beautiful head of bok choy:

The crisp stalk and vibrant leafy greens are chocked full of Vitamins A and C and is low in calories. It make the perfect side dish for an Asian inspired meal and is super simple to cook. Just like kale and fresh spinach, the greens wilt and the stalks become tender when sauteed and soak up whatever flavors you add. I thought the dish was quite tasty, though the recipe I followed called for way too much soy sauce in my opinion, hence the not-so-lovely brown hue in the photo, so I scaled it back a bit. Here’s my hubby’s take on the side dish:

“There’s little more I can say that my lovely wife has said already. The look and taste is similar to kale to me, and I think I would enjoy it more while it’s more fresh. The soy sauce was too powerful for me to really enjoy it I believe. I will want to give this veggie another shot in the near future.”

Soy Ginger Garlic Bok Choy

Ingredients:
1 head of fresh bok choy, washed and chopped
1 Tbsp olive oil
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 Tbsp fresh ginger, grated or finely minced
1 Tbsp soy sauce
Sesame seeds
Salt and Pepper

Directions:
In a large pan, heat the oil over medium heat. Add the garlic and ginger and cook them for about one minute. Add the bok choy and soy sauce and cook for 3-5 minutes, until the leaves are wilted and the stalks are tender. Add salt and pepper to taste and sprinkle sesame seeds on top for garnish.

Source: Slightly adapted from Food Network

2 Responses to “Veggie Tales: Bok Choy”

  1. Tami September 10, 2011 at 2:31 pm #

    Try just garlic salt and ginger next time! It brings out the flavor of the vegetable (:
    I like my bok choy slightly crispy too.
    rsquaredpie.blogspot.com
    You have a lovely blog!

    • Becky September 14, 2011 at 10:04 am #

      Thanks Tami! I’ll definitely have to keep it more simple next time : )

Leave a Reply

