Veggie Tales: Parsnip

12 Oct

So, this slacker definitely forgot to do a Veggie Tales feature in September. Call me distracted or scatterbrained, but somehow it completely slipped my mind. BUT – the good news is – you’ll get a double dose of vegetables this month! (doesn’t sound like the best reward, does it?) So, the “September” veggie of the month is parsnip! I’d never tried this vegetable, in fact, the only time I seemed to hear about it was on food competition shows where they oftentimes add a smear of parsnip puree to their dish.

Parsnip is basically the albino brother of the carrot. They have a similar shape and texture and while the flavors are alike, the parsnip has more of a “bite” to it. It’s hard to describe – kind of a spicy/peppery taste. I used a simple recipe to show off the parsnip’s unique carrot-like flavor. This blended soup is perfect as a warm fall dish and is quite healthy to boot. Use a piece of toasted bread to sop it up or put it in a bread bowl for a more filling meal. (I made larger pretzel rolls and hollowed them out as a bread bowl – amazing!) Here’s my hubby’s take on the veggie of the month:

“Overall: Not bad at all. I too have heard of this veggie, but honestly never knew what it even looked like. My wife gave it to me raw and as she said it had a “bite” to it more than say a carrot does. However, to me it seemed more “minty” how it played with the back of my taste buds the same way mint does to me. When I saw the soup I thought, “Oh boy! Baby food!” But don’t knock it till you try it. I actually ate the whole soup and bread bowl. Parsnip will be a veggie I will have again!”

Parsnip Soup

Ingredients:
6 cups low-sodium chicken or vegetable broth
1 lb parsnips (about 2 large parsnips), peeled and sliced
1/2 onion, chopped
2 garlic cloves, chopped
Paprika
Dash of salt and pepper

Directions:
Combine the broth, parsnips, onion, garlic, and salt and pepper in a large saucepan. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer, uncovered, until the parsnips are tender, about 25 minutes.

Remove saucepan from heat and let the soup cool completely. Pour the soup into a blender in batches and puree. (be VERY careful if it’s still hot – hold the lid down tight otherwise it will splash out!) Return the blended soup to the pan and simmer until it’s heated through. Ladle it into bowls and sprinkle with paprika. Enjoy! (Points Plus Value: 1 cup of soup = 2 Points Plus)

Source: Slightly adapted from Weight Watchers Just 5 Cookbook

Leave a Reply

