Veggie Tales: Rutabaga

25 Dec

Merry Christmas to my lovely readers – I hope you’re all having a blessed day! This marks the last installment of the Veggie Tales series of 2011. But don’t fret, there will be new and exciting things for 2012 too!

I picked the rutabaga as my final veggie and though I’d never eaten it before, it holds a special place in my heart. For some reason, a nickname my parents had for me growing up was “rutabaga”.ย (Mom or Dad, feel free to expound upon the reason behind this!) Whether it was short for Rebecca somehow or completely random, it stuck and I oddly enjoyed being nicknamed after an often forgotten vegetable.

The rutabaga is a root vegetable that is apparently a cross between turnips and cabbage. It’s thought to have originated in Sweden and the name comes from the Swedish word for “root bag”. How lovely. ๐Ÿ™‚ They are eaten more commonly in other countries and even are carved into lanterns in Scotland and Ireland at Halloween time to ward of bad spirits. Interesting!

I decided to do a basic roast on the rutabagas to get a real sample of their flavor. They are very hard when they’re raw and can be a little hard to cut. Once roasted, they had a really nice texture from the crisp exterior to the soft interior. The taste was a little surprising – they were slightly sweet and reminded me of a squash-like flavor. Overall I was very impressed with this vegetable and would love to make it again! Here’s what Jason thought:

“Hello all – last veggie for the year. *tear* The rutabaga was something I have never had either, and thankfully after a year of veggies, I was able to jump right into this one. It tasted a little like a butternut squash, but more firm. I too would definitely try it again. This year has brought a great range of new veggies. Some we will add more to our menu and some…well I can at least say I’ve tried them! I’m sure this won’t be the last new veggie forever, but for now, thank you all and thank you to my lovely wife.”

Roasted Rutabaga

Ingredients:
1 large rutabaga
2 Tbsp olive oil
2 tsp Italian seasoning
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp pepper
1 tsp sugar

Directions:
Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Peel the rutabaga and cut it into 1 inch cubes. Toss the cubes in a bowl with the olive oil and coat evenly. (add more oil if needed) Add the remaining ingredients and toss to evenly coat. Put the rutabaga on a lined baking sheet and roast on the middle oven rack for 1 hour, stirring halfway through so they don’t stick or burn. Serve while warm and enjoy!

Source: A Beckster original

2 Responses to “Veggie Tales: Rutabaga”

  1. linda pitarella June 11, 2013 at 4:12 pm #

    are the leafs of rutabaga edible? thank you

    • Becky June 13, 2013 at 9:01 pm #

      I’ve never eaten them, but you sure can! From what I’ve heard, you prepare them like you would turnip greens. If you try them, I’d love to hear what you thought!

Leave a Reply

