Nutella Mug Cake

6 Jan

Happy Epiphany! I hope yall have enjoyed my 12 Days of Christmas recipes – it’s been a lot of work and I’ve eaten WAY too many sweets, but it was loads of fun!

To end the series, I decided to try a mug cake recipe that I saw months ago. This is a quick and delicious dessert, but it’s a pretty huge serving so find someone to share with! Luckily, my hubby and I are huge Nutella fans, so we finished it fast.

Now, I didn’t have any self rising flour on hand, but after a quick search, I found a simple way to make your own. It’s a lot cheaper than buying it separately and is definitely a good substitution to know!

The cake really ballooned up while cooking in the microwave, but luckily never overflowed. It was super rich and soft, and the Nutella flavor really wasn’t as strong as I’d anticipated. I just wish I had some ice cream to eat with it! You could top it with ice cream, whipped cream, or more Nutella or chocolate sauce, to create an even more decadent treat.

Yum!!

Nutella Mug Cake

Ingredients:
4 Tbsp self rising flour
4 Tbsp white granulated sugar
1 egg
3 Tbsp cocoa powder
3 Tbsp Nutella
3 Tbsp milk
3 Tbsp vegetable oil

Yields: 1 large cake

Directions:
Combine all the ingredients in a bowl and whisk together well. Pour the batter into a large coffee mug. Microwave it on high for 2 1/2 – 3 minutes. (or longer if it doesn’t look cooked – microwaves may vary)  Top it with powdered sugar, whipped cream, or any other topping you’d like. Serve while warm and enjoy!

Source: Babble – Family Kitchen

Leave a Reply

