Sometimes experiments go wrong…

13 Jan

So friends, I’m often an overachiever. Like most people, I don’t like failure. But when working in a laboratory, sometimes your experiments go wrong.

Last week, I was craving blood oranges like crazy. While shopping the other day, it was my mission to bring home some of these lovely fruits. After searching high and low from my usual grocery store to a specialty food store, I finally eyed some at Target. (that’s why I love you Target!)

I immediately had big plans for this citrus. Hello beautiful…

The first thing on my list I wanted to make was some blood orange curd, just like a lemon curd. (which I had never attempted to make either) I found a tried and true lemon curd recipe and felt really comfortable with the process. But, while some food substitutions are a breeze, others don’t translate so well. Please be warned that simply subbing blood orange juice and zest in a lemon curd recipe doesn’t work so hot.

I made the curd with no problems. The texture of the finished product was smooth and perfect. But when I went in for a taste – oh boy – it was tragic. It ended up being so bland, not the bright citrusy flavor I expected. I was so disappointed, but realized that I should’ve done more research before jumping in. Because after looking up some sample recipes of actual blood orange lemon curd that others have made, I found out that they add lemon to it to give it more flavor and tartness.

So, be on the lookout for a recipe redo – my fingers are crossed that it’ll be out of this world! 🙂

One Response to “Sometimes experiments go wrong…”

  1. hooplahicktx January 13, 2012 at 7:31 pm #

    I have a favorite lemon curd and this’ll be interesting to try. Walmart has the oranges.

Leave a Reply

