Blood Orange Margarita

29 Jan

Hello lovely readers – I’m back in the swing of things and bringing you a tasty drink to say “I missed you”!

Last year’s monthly “Veggie Tales” feature was loads of fun and really helped encourage me to try new foods instead of sticking to the same few staples. Then lately I realized that I don’t know much about cocktails and mixed drinks – I rarely make them myself even though I’m a big fan and have all the tools to create some yummy beverages. So friends, that’s my monthly goal this year – to try a new cocktail type of recipe each month and expand my horizons.

I wanted to start simple and was dying to use the rest of my blood oranges on something truly worthy. So what better way than to create a delicious and beautiful margarita! By the way, is anyone else in the danger zone when drinking fruity cocktails? They go down so easy and you forget they’re powerful – good thing I’m a pro at moderation.

Anyways, this margarita is a breeze to create and you could totally switch out the blood orange juice for some other citrus you prefer. And you can’t beat that gorgeous crimson hue – how lovely! Feel free to add a little more tequila if you like your drinks stronger. Pace yourself and hope you enjoy this delicious fruity drink! 🙂

Blood Orange Margarita

Ingredients:
2 blood oranges, juiced and strained (around 3 oz)
1 1/2 oz tequila
1 oz Triple Sec
Sugar
Ice

Yield: 1 drink

Directions:
Dip the rim of a cocktail glass in water.  Swirl the rim through a small pile of sugar to coat the rim.

Combine the blood orange juice, tequila, and Triple Sec into a cocktail shaker. Add ice and shake for 15 seconds. Strain the cocktail into the glass and enjoy!

Source: A Beckster Original

One Response to “Blood Orange Margarita”

  1. Savory Simple January 30, 2012 at 11:05 am #

    That is one sexy drink! Perfect for Valentine’s Day.

Leave a Reply

