Blackberry Mojito

5 Jan

IMG_2515

Not sure when I became such a mojito person, but now it’s totally my go-to drink at home when I’m craving a little something. Maybe it’s because my mint plant is still booming, or maybe it’s just because I like mashing things together in a glass. Regardless, when I saw blackberries for next to nothing at the grocery store, I bought a few packs with smoothies and mojitos in mind.

While you can definitely use some simple syrup, one random thing I like to use when making mojitos is raw cane sugar instead. The tart blackberries and lime with the sharp mint and a touch of sugar makes for a beautiful and delicious drink. This definitely won’t be the last mojito you see around here!

IMG_2516

Blackberry Mojito

Ingredients:
4 blackberries
4 mint leaves
1 tsp raw cane sugar (like Sugar in the Raw – I just use a 5 gram packet)
1/2 lime, juiced
1 1/2 oz white rum
Soda water

Yield: 1 drink

Directions:
Muddle the blackberries, mint, sugar, and lime juice in the bottom of your glass. Add the rum and stir. Top it off with some soda water and garnish as desired.

Source: Slightly adapted from One Martini at a Time

Leave a Reply

