Lemon Dutch Baby

23 Oct

IMG_4409

I apologize for falling off the face of the earth lately, but to say I’m sorry, I brought you an awesome Dutch Baby recipe! And honestly, part of the reason that life has been fast and furious lately is because…I have a “Dutch Baby in the oven”. And by that, in case you don’t get my lame humor, I mean that hubby and I are expecting our first child! We are beyond excited and are already totally in love with our little one. I’m 12ish weeks along and this baby has been so worth the wait! Plus my married name is Dutch, so the joke kinda works. ๐Ÿ™‚

So back to the food… I’ve had a Dutch Baby (sometimes known as a puff pancake, among other things) a few times before. I know there are different flavors out there, but I’ve always had them made simply with lemon and powdered sugar. This recipe comes from my Aunt Linda who is a pro in the kitchen and has made her fair share of these babies over the years.

IMG_4398

They are really simple to make and the puffy end result is pretty fun and impressive! You can bake them in a cast iron skillet or your favorite pie plate. But beware, when melting the butter in the oven, keep a close eye on it or else you’ll get browned butter. Which is tasty and all, but not great for this recipe. (I speak from experience – oops) Once the batter is cooked, brown, and puffy, you drizzle on a little fresh lemon juice, give it a heavy dusting of powdered sugar, slice, and serve while still warm. Such an easy yet special breakfast treat – I know my Dutch baby and I sure enjoyed it!

Lemon Dutch Baby

Ingredients:
3 eggs
3/4 cup milk
3/4 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 cup butter
Juice of 1/2 a lemon
Confectioners’ sugar

Yield: 4-6 servings

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 450 degrees F. Beat the eggs and milk until they are well blended. Add the flour and salt, stirring the batter until it is slightly lumpy.

Put the butter in a 10 inch pie plate and place in the oven to melt. When the butter is very hot, pour in the batter and bake for about twenty minutes, or until the pancake is brown and puffed. Sprinkle with lemon juice and confectioners’ sugar and cut into wedges. Serve immediately as it will deflate quickly.

Source: My Aunt Linda

Leave a Reply

