Banana Nut Muffins

11 Nov

IMG_4429

This recipe has been in our family for quite a while and is always my go-to when I need to use up some super ripe bananas. I remember my mom would make these for us when I was a kid and they freaked me out at first. You know how when baking with fresh banana you get those tiny black strings? I thought they looked like little worms and didn’t want to eat them at first. But, once I got over my irrational fear and took a bite, there was no turning back.

These muffins can be made with or without nuts. They’re super easy to make and everyone is sure to love them. I hope they become a staple in your family like they have been in mine!

Banana Nut Muffins

Ingredients:
1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened
1 cup sugar
2 eggs
2 cups flour
1/2 cup cold water
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
2 super ripe bananas, mashed
1/2 cup chopped walnuts, optional

Yield: 1 1/2 dozen muffins

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. In a mixing bowl, cream together the butter, sugar, and eggs. Add the rest of the ingredients and mix until combined.

Line a muffin pan with liners and scoop the batter, filling 2/3 of the way. Sprinkle some chopped nuts on top. Bake for 20 minutes. Let them sit in the pan for a few minutes then put them on a wire rack to finish cooling. Store in an airtight container as needed.

Source: My mother, originally from my Aunt Carole

One Response to “Banana Nut Muffins”

  1. Heather @ Sugar Dish Me November 14, 2013 at 9:33 pm #

    I have a countertop full of bananas that want to be in these muffins! Also — I’m sort of jealous you have family recipes. So great!

Leave a Reply

