Pumpkin Spice Funnel Cake w/Nutmeg Powdered Sugar

15 Oct

So, this item has a bit of a back story…

1. My husband challenged me to create a food item completely on my own. I get so busy trying other people’s recipes that I find, that I forget to be creative myself!

2. One of my favorite food blogs, Kitchen Corners, posted a cook-off challenge for October with a pumpkin theme.

So, I decided to combine the two challenges into one MEGA challenge for myself! I knew I needed to include pumpkin, so that narrowed my scope. Then I started to daydream about the Texas State Fair and yummy fair food, which led me to (of course) think about funnel cakes. Immediately, my idea formed. I’d create a pumpkin packed funnel cake topped with a nutmeg laced powdered sugar. How perfect for this time of year!

Though I’m sure others have made these before in some shape or form, I made this recipe myself and am very proud of it. Here you have it folks…a Beckster original recipe:

Pumpkin Spice Funnel Cake with Nutmeg Powdered Sugar

Ingredients:
1 egg
1 cup milk
1 cup canned pumpkin
1/8 cup brown sugar
1 and 1/2 cup flour
1/4 tsp salt
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice
Cooking oil of some sort
1/2 cup powdered sugar
2 tsp ground nutmeg

Directions:
Beat the egg, brown sugar, milk, and pumpkin together in a bowl. Add the flour, salt, baking powder, and pumpkin pie spice and continue to mix until combined. Heat some cooking oil in a pan on the stove at medium heat. When hot, use a funnel (or whatever you might have) to pour the batter into the pan. (If batter is too thick, add more milk until it reaches the desired consistency) Cook until light brown, then carefully flip and cook the other side until done. Remove funnel cake from pan and dab excess oil as needed.

Combine the powdered sugar and nutmeg in a bowl and sprinkle on top of the funnel cake. Enjoy!

3 Responses to “Pumpkin Spice Funnel Cake w/Nutmeg Powdered Sugar”

  1. Husband October 15, 2010 at 9:57 am #

    I’m so proud of you! I love you!!!

    • Tas November 6, 2011 at 2:08 am #

      this is a very different recipe and i hink i am going to try it….will let u know how it turns out

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pumpkin Blog Hop Results | Cookin' Cowgirl - July 16, 2014

    […] get enough of that lovely, orange squash. Pumpkin Short Ribs by In Erika’s Kitchen Pumpkin Spice Funnel Cake with Nutmeg Powdered Sugar by Beckster’s Laboratory Pumpkin Spice Lattes by Macaroni and Cheesecake Alice’s […]

Leave a comment