Veggie Tales: Asparagus

28 Feb

Welcome to February’s Veggie Tales post! This month, I made some mighty tasty asparagus. I personally love this veggie but never make it because I didn’t think my hubby was a fan. I kept the recipe pretty simple – just roasted in the oven with some olive oil, salt, and pepper. The texture was perfect – not too crisp and not too mushy. What an easy side dish to make for any occasion!  Here’s my hubby’s take:

“Hello again! My lovely wife has asked me to put in my two cents. I’ll keep this short and sweet: It was actually quite good! The way she made it reminded me of green beans a little bit. While I still couldn’t get past the tops, I did eat several of the stocks. (Just between you and me, you should’ve seen my wife jumping up and down in excitement over me liking this vegetable) Anyways, I would HIGHLY recommend trying this, and maybe dicing it up and adding it to a dish!”

Oven-Roasted Asparagus

Ingredients:
1 bunch Asparagus
4 Tbsp Olive Oil
Salt, To Taste
Black Pepper, To Taste

Directions:
Preheat oven to 425 degrees.

After you wash the asparagus thoroughly, stack a bunch together and cut off the tough/thick bottom, an inch or so.

Spread out the asparagus in a single layer on a rimmed baking sheet. Pat it as dry as you can, as you don’t want any water to “steam” the asparagus in the oven.

Begin by generously drizzling olive oil all over the asparagus and then sprinkle the asparagus generously with salt and black pepper. (I used a silicone brush and brushed the oil onto the asparagus)

Roast the asparagus for about ten minutes. The secret here is for the oven to be very hot so the asparagus can begin to brown on the outside without overcooking and getting too flimsy. You want the finished asparagus to still have a bite to it. Enjoy!

Source: The Pioneer Woman

2 Responses to “Veggie Tales: Asparagus”

  1. Andrea March 3, 2011 at 6:21 am #

    This is the same recipe I use to make asparagus except I broil them for 5-10 minutes and then add some Parmesan cheese when it comes out of the oven!

  2. Aunt Linda March 3, 2011 at 3:27 pm #

    I usually only think of asparagus in the spring. Glad you reminded me of it!

Leave a comment